Sixers Will Finish With The 3rd Seed, I Guarantee It

 

Last night the Sixers survived a late Orlando scare. Thankfully they held on for the victory and more thankfully they covered the spread for me. With that win they stay 0.5 game behind Indiana for the 3rd seed in the East. With their track record against Boston, who currently sits at 5th and shows no sign of moving up or down, Philly needs that 3rd seed.

East standings.PNG

Boston has been a pain in the ass for Philly and a first round match up with them is a nightmare scenario. Yes the Sixers would have home court advantage but the Celtics just seem to currently have Philly’s number. Going toe to toe with Detroit of Brooklyn in the opening round is exactly what this team and Brett Brown need. We’ll deal with Toronto later.

So now the question becomes can Philly catch Indiana and the answer to hat is a guaranteed yes. Philadelphia’s schedule is about to get a lot easier and the Pacers’ is going the complete opposite direction. Here is a peak at the remaining schedule for the Pacers:

Mar 7, 2019  @ Milwaukee Bucks
Sun, Mar 10, 2019  @ Philadelphia 76ers
Tue, Mar 12, 2019  New York Knicks
Thu, Mar 14, 2019 Oklahoma City Thunder
Sat, Mar 16, 2019 @ Denver Nuggets
Mon, Mar 18, 2019 @ Portland Trail Blazers
Tue, Mar 19, 2019 @ Los Angeles Clippers
Thu, Mar 21, 2019 @ Golden State Warriors
Sun, Mar 24, 2019 Denver Nuggets
Wed, Mar 27, 2019 @ Oklahoma City Thunder
Fri, Mar 29, 2019  @ Boston Celtics
Sat, Mar 30, 2019  Orlando Magic
Mon, Apr 1, 2019 Detroit Pistons
Wed, Apr 3, 2019  @ Detroit Pistons
Fri, Apr 5, 2019  Boston Celtics
Sun, Apr 7, 2019 Brooklyn Nets
Wed, Apr 10, 2019 @ Atlanta Hawks

Not many gimmes in there. Want to know exactly how difficult that schedule is? FiveThirtyEight currently projects the Pacers finishing the season with a 49-33 record. Meaning they only see Indiana going 7-10 through this stretch and I tend to agree. From the game at the Nuggets on March 16th through the game at Boston, they may lose 7 in a row. In fact FTE actually has Boston leap frogging Indiana for the 4th seed.

So rest easy Sixers fans. Philly will be a top 3 seed again this year and will also be a realistic contender come Finals time.

0 0 votes
Article Rating

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments